Celebrating a year of living

Standard

article

Tuesday 24 March marked one of the defining moments of my life. I celebrated my one-year anniversary of being admitted to a psychiatric clinic. I was living with uncontrolled clinical depression, PTSD and anxiety and I came dangerously close to ending my life.

That experience is the reason why I started this blog. To celebrate life, talk about living with depression and raise awareness about mental health issues.

You might wonder why I am celebrating my admission to a hospital. This is because I was so relieved and happy that finally I could start my journey to living the kind of life I want. A life filled with joy, adventure, incredible happiness and freedom. I learnt how to listen to my own voice and my soul.

I live with a grateful heart. My life is a precious gift. I am so thankful to the people I met at Crescent – the psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers and the amazing friends I made. They got to know my story and what I’m all about.

So I decided to do something brave. I told my story to a South African magazine and they published the article. It was a very sanitised and simplified version – but credit to the journalist who told a difficult story so well. I hope that my story can help someone else who is facing something similar.

So now I have two birthdays. 12 January when I came into this world and 24 March, the day when I started living my one wild and precious life.

5 thoughts on “Celebrating a year of living

    • Many, many hugs to you too. You will get through this – whenever you doubt and feel like you can’t carry on any longer just remember how far you’ve come, everything you’ve faced and all the battles you’ve won and all the fears you have overcome. xxxx

  1. Robyn

    I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since we sat together outside having lunch and you told me that you were going to Crescent. How far you’ve come my friend. What a wonderful life you’ve made for yourself – definitely worth celebrating! A very merry un-birthday to you xx

    • Thank you so much my beautiful friend. You told me some important things that day – that it was something to do just for me. You were right and I never forgot those words. Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

